Skipmain

Rhederoord

Rhederoord was established in 1657 following a series of land acquisitions by the Everwijn and Brantsen families. In 1743, W.P. Brantsen commi…

Rhederoord was established in 1657 following a series of land acquisitions by the Everwijn and Brantsen families. In 1743, W.P. Brantsen commissioned the creation of a formal park (designed by Jacob Marot). The country house was built between 1745 and 1746. In 1797, J.P. Posth produced a design for a landscape-style layout. The cadastral map of 1832 illustrates a transitional period from the formal layout to the landscape-style layout. The construction of the railway line between Zutphen and Arnhem (1862–1865) may have been one of the reasons for a further redesign of the grounds (designed by C.E.A. Petzold). In 1868, the layout was altered to the landscape style: winding paths, various vistas and groups of trees. In 1911, the family sold the estate – which had fallen into disrepair over the years – to Mr N.J.H. Hasselt of Oosterbeek, who had the house and park refurbished by J.W. Hanrath and L.A. Springer respectively. In 1919, large parts of the estate were sold to Natuurmonumenten. The country house and its immediate surroundings now serve as a hotel and restaurant.

Contact

Parkweg 17
6994 CM  De Steeg
Plan your route to Rhederoord


Take a look